What Are The Different Stages of Dementia?

Transcription of Video: What Is Dementia?

As most of you know, Dementia is NOT a single disease; it’s an overall term — like heart disease — that covers a wide range of specific medical conditions, including Alzheimer’s disease.

Disorders grouped under the general term “dementia” are caused by abnormal brain changes. These changes trigger a decline in thinking skills, also known as cognitive abilities, severe enough to impair daily life and independent function. They also affect behavior, feelings, and relationships.

There are 7 stages of dementia and they are all based on the cognitive function of the client:

Cognition refers to the mental processes involved in gaining knowledge and comprehension.

These cognitive processes include thinking, knowing, remembering, judging, and problem-solving. These are higher-level functions of the brain and encompass language, imagination, perception, and planning.

  1. Stage 1 – No cognitive decline
  2. Stage 2 – Mild cognitive decline
  3. Stage 3 – Mild cognitive decline
  4. Stage 4 – Moderate cognitive decline
  5. Stage 5 – Moderately severe cognitive decline
  6. Stage 6 – Severe cognitive decline
  7. Stage 7 – Very severe cognitive decline

If you would like to learn more about the different stages of dementia, call us today!  We offer dementia training for everyone from caregivers to family members!

Wellness Wednesday Articles